What is the Big C?

The Big C, incorporated in 1990, is a governmental council including eleven municipalities residing on the west coast of Florida, from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater:

Belleair Beach, Belleair Shore, Clearwater, Indian Rocks Beach, Indian Shores, Madeira Beach, North Redington Beach, Redington Beach, Redington Shores, St. Pete Beach, Treasure Island

Why does the Big C Exist?

To stimulate communications between the barrier islands cities to focus on problems common to all, including but not limited to: tourism, recycling, public transportation, beach preservation, renourishment and access, marine environment, air and water quality, public safety, density management, waterway regulation, taxation based on permanent residents and average transient population, to unite and be able to have one voice addressing the County, State and Federal governments while respecting the individuality of each city.

We invite you to become acquainted with--and participate in--the Big C!